// RUNNING TRACKER · NEWEST ENTRY MARCH 2026

South African data breach tracker.

Confirmed data breaches, ransomware incidents and cyber attacks affecting South African organisations. Curated by Immersive IT, sourced from public reporting and official statements. 18 confirmed incidents listed, 2016 - 2026.

Why we maintain this list.

South Africa does not have a central public breach registry. The Information Regulator publishes some notifications, but most breaches surface piecemeal through News24, MyBroadband, ITWeb or BusinessLIVE, and then slip into the archive. By the time a business owner wants to understand the local threat landscape, the picture is fragmented across years of news links.

This tracker consolidates what we know, with sources, so that executives, IT managers and anyone preparing a risk assessment can see what has actually happened in South Africa rather than relying on US-centric statistics. We update it as new confirmed incidents are reported.

We only list breaches that have been confirmed by the affected organisation or reported through verifiable media. If you have information about an incident you believe should be listed, email hello@immersiveit.co.za with sources.

Confirmed South African breaches.

Sorted newest first. Each entry links to primary sources.

2026-03

Statistics South Africa (Stats SA)

Public sector / statistics
TypeData breach + extortion
Records453,362 files (154 GB) claimed by attackers
AttackerXP95 (claimed)
StatusConfirmed by Stats SA
Method

Breach of the online HR system job seekers use to apply for posts; data stolen and a $100,000 ransom demanded

Impact

Job seeker application data exposed. Stats SA said it would not pay the ransom and would notify the Information Regulator.

2025-01

Cell C

Telecommunications
TypeData breach + extortion
RecordsNot disclosed; about 2 TB claimed by attackers
AttackerRansomHouse (claimed)
StatusConfirmed by Cell C
Method

Unauthorised access to unstructured data in parts of Cell C's IT environment at the end of 2024

Impact

Data published on the dark web in April 2025. Cell C said it may include contact details, ID and passport numbers, driver's licence numbers, banking details and some medical records. Information Regulator notified.

2024-06

National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)

Public health / laboratories
TypeRansomware
Records1.2 TB claimed by attackers; NHLS said no patient data was lost
AttackerBlackSuit (claimed)
StatusConfirmed by NHLS
Method

Ransomware deployed against selected points in the IT network; parts of the systems, including a backup server, were deleted

Impact

Automated delivery of laboratory results to clinicians disabled; urgent results phoned through manually. NHLS said it would not engage with the attackers or pay.

Sources SAnews · Comparitech
2024-03

Government Pensions Administration Agency (GPAA)

Public sector / pensions
TypeRansomware
Records668 GB of data (claimed by attackers)
AttackerLockBit
StatusConfirmed by GPAA; full extent not published
Method

LockBit ransomware attack with data exfiltration; access attempt first detected on 16 February 2024

Impact

GPAA initially said no breach had occurred, then confirmed in March 2024 that certain systems were compromised after LockBit released data. Systems shut down to isolate affected areas; pension payments not affected.

Sources GEPF · Moonstone
2023-05

JD Group

pending review
TypeData breach
Records521,878 accounts (HIBP)
Attackersee HIBP writeup
StatusCONFIRMED (HIBP)
Method

In May 2023, the South African retailer JD Group announced a data breach affecting a number of their online assets including Bradlows, Everyshop, HiFi Corp, Incredible (Connection), Rochester, Russells, and Sleepmasters. The breach exposed over 520k unique customer records including names, email and physical addresses, phone numbers and South African ID numbers.

Impact

Data classes exposed: Email addresses, Government issued IDs, Names, Phone numbers, Physical addresses. Source: haveibeenpwned.com.

2022-05

Dis-Chem

Retail pharmacy
TypeThird-party breach
Records3,687,881 individuals
AttackerUnknown
StatusConfirmed by Dis-Chem
Method

Unauthorised access to a database built and managed by a third-party operator contracted by Dis-Chem

Impact

First names, surnames, email addresses and cellphone numbers exposed. Dis-Chem said no ID numbers, medical, financial or banking information was in the database.

2022-03

TransUnion South Africa

Credit bureau
TypeData breach + extortion
Records~54 million records claimed by attackers; not confirmed by TransUnion
AttackerN4aughtysecTU
StatusConfirmed by TransUnion
Method

Access to an isolated South African server through misuse of an authorised client's credentials; the attackers claimed the password was "password"

Impact

Ransom of about $15m (R223m) demanded; TransUnion refused to pay, suspended the client's access and said it would notify affected consumers and offer identity protection.

2021-07

Transnet

Logistics / state-owned enterprise
TypeRansomware
RecordsRansom note claimed about 1 TB of files encrypted; primarily operational disruption
AttackerLinked by CrowdStrike to the Death Kitty / HelloKitty ransomware family (per Bloomberg)
StatusConfirmed by Transnet (force majeure notice)
Method

Ransomware attack on IT systems, including the container terminal operating system

Impact

Force majeure declared at container terminals in Durban, Ngqura, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town; manual cargo handling caused long delays until systems were restored in stages.

2021-05

Virgin Active South Africa

Fitness / health
TypeCyberattack
RecordsNot publicly disclosed
AttackerUnknown
StatusConfirmed by Virgin Active
Method

Cyberattack on internal IT systems

Impact

All IT systems taken offline as a precaution, including the app, website, online classes, in-club WiFi and phone lines; gyms stayed open. Virgin Active said it had no indication data was removed and notified the Information Regulator.

Sources ITWeb · TimesLIVE
2020-08

Experian (South Africa)

pending review
TypeData breach
Records1,284,637 accounts (HIBP)
Attackersee HIBP writeup
StatusCONFIRMED (HIBP)
Method

In August 2020, Experian South Africa suffered a data breach which exposed the personal information of tens of millions of individuals. Only 1.3M of the records contained email addresses, whilst most contained government issued identity numbers, names, addresses, occupations and employers, amongst other person information.

Impact

Data classes exposed: Email addresses, Employers, Government issued IDs, Names, Occupations, Phone numbers. Source: haveibeenpwned.com.

2020-08

Experian South Africa

Credit bureau
TypeData leak / social engineering
RecordsUp to 24 million individuals and 793,749 business entities
AttackerIndividual posing as a legitimate client
StatusConfirmed by Experian
Method

Social engineering: the suspect fraudulently requested data from Experian while purporting to represent a legitimate client

Impact

Personal information exposed; Experian said no credit or financial information was obtained and its systems were not compromised. The suspect's hardware was impounded under an Anton Piller order and the data deleted.

Sources BusinessTech
2020-06

Postbank (South African Post Office)

Banking / public sector
TypeInsider-related key compromise
RecordsAbout 12 million cards to be replaced (reported)
AttackerEmployees, according to internal Postbank reports seen by the Sunday Times
StatusReported (Sunday Times, from internal reports)
Method

Master encryption key printed in unencrypted form at the old Pretoria data centre and allegedly stolen

Impact

Card replacement reported to cost about R1bn; an internal report recorded about R56m stolen from social grant beneficiaries through some 25,000 fraudulent transactions.

Sources ITWeb · Sunday Times
2019-10

City of Johannesburg

Municipal government
TypeCyber-extortion
RecordsNot disclosed
AttackerGroup calling itself Shadow Kill Hackers
StatusConfirmed by the City
Method

Network breach followed by a demand for 4 BTC, with a threat to publish stolen data

Impact

Website, e-services, billing, call centre and cashier systems taken offline as a precaution. The city had not paid at the time of reporting.

2018-06

Liberty Holdings

Financial services / insurance
TypeData breach + extortion
RecordsNot disclosed; mostly recent emails, per Liberty
AttackerUnknown
StatusConfirmed by Liberty
Method

Unauthorised access to IT infrastructure, including the company's mailing service

Impact

An external party claimed to have taken data and demanded payment. Liberty did not pay, reported no client financial losses and said it would contact affected clients directly.

Sources BusinessTech
2018-05

ViewFines

pending review
TypeData breach
Records777,649 accounts (HIBP)
Attackersee HIBP writeup
StatusCONFIRMED (HIBP)
Method

In May 2018, the South African website for viewing traffic fines online known as ViewFines suffered a data breach. Over 934k records containing 778k unique email addresses were exposed and included names, phone numbers, government issued IDs and passwords stored in plain text.

Impact

Data classes exposed: Email addresses, Government issued IDs, Names, Passwords, Phone numbers. Source: haveibeenpwned.com.

2017-03

Master Deeds

pending review
TypeData breach
Records2,257,930 accounts (HIBP)
Attackersee HIBP writeup
StatusCONFIRMED (HIBP)
Method

In March 2017, a 27GB database backup file named "Master Deeds" was sent to HIBP by a supporter of the project. Upon detailed analysis later that year, the file was found to contain the personal data of tens of millions of living and deceased South African residents. The data included extensive personal attributes such as names, addresses, ethnicities, genders, birth dates, government issued personal identification numbers and 2.2 million email addresses. At the time of publishing, it's alleged the data was sourced from Dracore Data Sciences (Dracore is yet to publicly confirm or deny the data…

Impact

Data classes exposed: Dates of birth, Deceased statuses, Email addresses, Employers, Ethnicities, Genders, Government issued IDs, Home ownership statuses, Job titles, Names, Nationalities, Phone numbers, Physical addresses. Source: haveibeenpwned.com.

2017-03

Ster-Kinekor

pending review
TypeData breach
Records1,619,544 accounts (HIBP)
Attackersee HIBP writeup
StatusCONFIRMED (HIBP)
Method

In 2016, the South African cinema company Ster-Kinekor had a security flaw which leaked a large amount of customer data via an enumeration vulnerability in the API of their old website. Whilst more than 6 million accounts were leaked by the flaw, the exposed data only contained 1.6 million unique email addresses. The data also included extensive personal information such as names, addresses, birthdates, genders and plain text passwords.

Impact

Data classes exposed: Dates of birth, Email addresses, Genders, Names, Passwords, Phone numbers, Physical addresses, Spoken languages. Source: haveibeenpwned.com.

2016-09

eThekwini Municipality

pending review
TypeData breach
Records81,830 accounts (HIBP)
Attackersee HIBP writeup
StatusCONFIRMED (HIBP)
Method

In September 2016, the new eThekwini eServices website in South Africa was launched with a number of security holes that lead to the leak of over 98k residents' personal information and utility bills across 82k unique email addresses. Emails were sent prior to launch containing passwords in plain text and the site allowed anyone to download utility bills without sufficient authentication. Various methods of customer data enumeration was possible and phishing attacks began appearing the day after launch.

Impact

Data classes exposed: Dates of birth, Deceased date, Email addresses, Genders, Government issued IDs, Names, Passport numbers, Passwords, Phone numbers, Physical addresses, Utility bills. Source: haveibeenpwned.com.

Patterns we see in SA breaches.

Third parties and trusted access are a recurring weak point

Dis-Chem's 2022 breach happened in a database built and managed by a third-party operator. TransUnion's 2022 incident came through misuse of an authorised client's credentials. In both cases the way in sat outside the organisation's own core systems. Vendor and client access deserve the same scrutiny as your own network, and vendor security assessment is now a basic requirement, not a nice-to-have.

Social engineering and insider access rival technical exploits

Experian South Africa was not a technical hack; a person posing as a legitimate client obtained a data set under false pretences. Postbank's master encryption key was reportedly stolen by employees, according to internal reports seen by the Sunday Times. The idea that strong firewalls alone protect a business is 15 years out of date.

Ransomware operators treat SA as a legitimate target

LockBit hit GPAA. BlackSuit claimed the NHLS attack. RansomHouse published Cell C customer data. Transnet's container terminals ran manually for days. SA is no longer peripheral to global ransomware operations; our organisations hit the same ransomware-as-a-service dashboards as European and American targets, and the economics work for attackers wherever victims cannot restore quickly.

Detection, not prevention, is the gap

Several incidents on this list came to light because the attackers announced them, through a ransom note, a leak-site post or an extortion demand, rather than because internal monitoring caught them first. Attackers often go unnoticed for weeks or months. The gap is not that SA businesses have no security; the gap is that they cannot see what is happening inside their own environments. SIEM and endpoint detection are what close that gap, and they are now affordable for SMBs.

Frequently asked questions.

What is the biggest data breach in South African history?

By claimed record count, the TransUnion South Africa incident of March 2022 is the largest. The attackers, calling themselves N4aughtysecTU, claimed access to about 54 million records, a figure TransUnion did not confirm.

The largest officially reported figure belongs to the Experian South Africa incident of August 2020: up to 24 million individuals and 793,749 business entities, obtained through social engineering rather than a technical breach.

How do I check if my data was in a South African breach?

First, check haveibeenpwned.com with your email address. It covers most major international and some SA breaches. For South Africa-specific incidents, watch for notices from the affected organisation: Dis-Chem and Cell C both issued public notices, and TransUnion said it would notify affected consumers.

If you believe your data was exposed in any breach, change the passwords on any accounts using that email, enable multi-factor authentication, and watch for unusual banking or SIM-swap activity. South Africans can also apply for free Protective Registration with the Southern African Fraud Prevention Service (SAFPS).

What should a South African business do if it suffers a data breach?

Under South African data protection law, any organisation that suffers a security compromise affecting personal information must notify the Information Regulator and affected individuals as soon as reasonably possible.

First actions in order: isolate affected systems without destroying forensic evidence, change credentials for any compromised accounts, review audit logs to establish scope and timeline, assess whether data was exfiltrated, draft the regulatory notification, and engage legal counsel. Do not wipe systems and do not pay ransom without expert consultation.

For urgent breach response in South Africa phone us on +27 65 933 9750.

Are SA SMBs really being targeted or is it just the big breaches that make the news?

SMBs are targeted constantly, they just do not make headlines. The breaches on this tracker reached mainstream news because of scale or because the organisation was publicly listed or state-owned. Most SA SMB breaches never get published, because the business either quietly pays the ransom, quietly restores from backup, or lacks the detection capability to realise it was breached in the first place.

Attackers often sit inside a compromised network for weeks or months before anyone notices, and most SA SMBs do not have the logging and alerting to shorten that.

How often is this breach tracker updated?

As new confirmed breaches become publicly reported. We list only breaches that have been confirmed by the affected organisation or reported through verifiable media sources. Rumoured or unconfirmed incidents are not included until a confirmable source is available.

I have information about a breach, how do I submit it?

Email hello@immersiveit.co.za with at least one verifiable source (news report, Information Regulator notification, or an on-the-record statement from the affected organisation). We do not publish anonymous tips without a corroborating source.